The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan

Book: The Weight of Water
Author: Sarah Crossan
Published: January 2012
Rating: 4 stars.

Blurb:

Armed with a suitcase and an old laundry bag filled with clothes, Kasienka and her mother head for England. Life is lonely for Kasienka. At home her mother’s heart is breaking and at school friends are scarce. But when someone special swims into her life, Kasienka learns that there might be more than one way for her to stay afloat.”The Weight of Water” is a startlingly original piece of fiction; most simply a brilliant coming of age story, it also tackles the alienation experienced by many young immigrants. Moving, unsentimental and utterly page-turning, we meet and share the experiences of a remarkable girl who shows us how quiet courage prevails.


 Review:

When it comes to poetry what I have read is whatever that was offered in our course. So I had no clue of what I might find in this book, but what I found was worthwhile indeed. Firstly the cover is so pretty, which was one of the reasons I took this book (yes yes, judging a book by its cover).  Its a coming of age story written in poetic episodes with a very powerful message. The poetry is beautiful and eccentric somehow. I really like how Sarah Crossan has her way with words in this one. There is fluidity and you won’t lose connection with the plot. Another aspect that I really admired was that it all felt so real. The descriptions carried out are engaging and somewhere it does feel like you are seeing through the eyes of a 13 year old.
Hence this amazing story, I shall recommend to anyone who is looking for a short read with a fine plot, good poetry and a coming of age story.


This is sort of an extra, but this is my favourite poem from the book:

kenilworth-castle-3-300x200

Kenilworth Castle

We went on a school trip to
Warwick Castle
But I couldn’t believe in that place
– So symmetrical
So perfectly preserved,
So clean
It reminded me of Disney Land-
What I imagine Disney Land would
look like.

I could make no sense of its shine.

When I tell William he agrees.
We both think castles should be crumbling
After all those years,
To prove they have seen
Real History.
And history is struggle
And war,
We think.

So he takes me to Kenilworth
On the bus with him.
To see the ruins in the rain.

Elizabeth
Kept her favourite here, In Kenilworth.

And Time stood still when she
came:
The Great Clock Tower
Stopped
For her
And they feasted and frolicked
Elizabeth and her favourite –
Right here.

And its the most romantic place
I’ve ever seen:
Kenilworth Castle continuing to
Crumble, as it should,
In the rain.


Leave a Reply

