The Trials of Apollo Book 1: The Hidden Oracle

1812.jpg

Book: The Hidden Oracle
Series: The Trials of Apollo
Author: Rick Riordan (OMFG!!)
Genres: Fantasy, YA Fiction, Adventure Fiction, Mystery

Blurb: How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.


Review *SPOILERS*

Okay, so lets get it straight. I have never read Percy Jackson. All I have of Percy Jackson is Logan Lerman, my friends blabbering on about it and the snippets I got from here and there. It has been in my to-read list forever yet procrastination always got the best of me. But this book, just wow. It reminded me of the mock epic format from the 18th century. The combination of the epic and the insignificant.

The story follows a conceited and dramatic God, Apollo and his fall from Olympus and the trails he is supposed to face in his mortal state so as to become a God again. Its exciting and hilarious, that is something I really liked. At the beginning I found it a bit lacking in speed to catch up with the events that would keep me engaged but soon I was hooked. I almost read it in a go after that. But a few moments left me like hanging on a thin thread and waiting for the judgement, and biting your nails off in the mean time. One was when it was revealed that there are going to be Roman Emperors involved and when it was revealed that it was emperor Nero himself I was like

giphy.gif

And he is supposed to be one of the THREE emperors who have lived after all this time and have become emperor-Gods. Then there are these oracles, prophesy, amazing twists that will confuse you and make you laugh at yourself thinking “huh, who would have thought”. Seriously, amazing plot line. Honestly I have not felt such thrills in a long long time.

Of course nothing is perfect. The places where I almost lost interest were the ones where there was an overdose of humor. Sometimes I felt that the scenes were supposed to be serious yet they were portrayed in a weird comic manner. It was funny though hence I would definitely suggest to read this book. I am desperately waiting for the next one. NO DOUBT.

My rating would be (4 dangos)

ratings copy.jpg

Leave a Reply

