All The Bright Places | Second Book

All the Bright PlacesAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*SPOILERS* [Not many though, but the most important one]

This is my second book of the summer break and as reminded by the novel itself, it was a LOVELY read. To be honest sometimes it does bother me to see how ‘romanticizing mental illness’ is emerging as a new genre, but lets be HONEST honest. We still crave it. There is something about this category in itself that makes me go crazy every single time a new book pops up.

I haven’t read Fault in the Stars so I wouldn’t be able to compare the too even if I wanted to. But the book in itself is a fine one. I like the idea of different perspectives as far as the characters are concerned. There is a certain hopelessness to it beautifully dressed in melancholia. But at some parts I felt there was something lacking, specially at the very start. I wasn’t able to connect with the characters much. It was only when I was done with like 1/4th of it when I started to binge read. The end specially after Finch’s death was amazing. I loved the idea how everything seemed to connect with the pre-demise period.

Last part is the portrayal of Indiana. I like how it is portrayed and how importance has been given to it. That for sometime made me want to go explore my State even though, for as long as I can remember, there was ‘nothing much to see’ here. I like the feeling of wanderlust consuming me which is one of the things I do look forward to in a book. In all it was grand.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

