Freedom Writers

All I needed was a catalyst, when it came to movies. Something that might influence me, or affect me in such a manner, that I keep looking for more. I think Freedom Writers served that purpose for me. It all started with a bucket list, mental preparation and tad bit of procrastination, but I did it.

So Freedom Writers, I believe, is a wonderful experience, especially if you have any interest in the racial issues that exist in our society, and no amount of denial is going to make them disappear. The movie is sensitive, yet so explicitly attacking the idea of racism. I like its approach and the way it has been portrayed. I love the fact that listerature is portrayed as liberating and a hero (that’s the way I’d like to see it, I mean come on, literature is awesome). To me it has become one of my favourite movies and gives a message that is not to be ignored. Really guys, I think you definitely should watch it. Its a coming-of-age movie, makes your question the system and conventions and most importantly it forces you to think.

ALSO ALSO! I am definitely either downloading or (hopefully)buying The Freedom Writers Diary. Maybe you’ll want to check it out as well, for it tells the stories of all the Freedom Writers and the hardships they faced in their lives. So anyway! If you haven’t see the movie, do and do watch it! I know you wont regret it.

P.S IT HAS HILARY SWANK!

Leave a Reply

